Home Security Blog.

Effective June 21, 2008 , adult passengers (18 and over) are required to show a U S federal or state-issued ID that contains the following: Name, date of birth, gender, expiration date and tamper-resistant feature in order to be allowed to go through the check point and onto any flight.

Passengers who do not or cannot present an acceptable ID will have to provide information to the TSA Security Officer performing document checking duties in order to verify their identity. Passengers who are cleared through this process may be subject to additional screening. Passengers whose identity cannot be verified by the TSA may not be allowed to go through the check point or onto an airplane.

Acceptable ID’s:

* U. S. Passport
* U. S. Passport Card
* DHS “trusted traveler” cards (NEXUS. SENTRI, FAST)
* U. S. Military ID ( active duty or retired military and their dependents)
* Permanent Resident Card
* Boarder Crossing Card
* DHS-designated enhanced driver’s license
* Driver’s licenses or other state photo idenity cards issued by the Department of motor vehicles. (0r
equivalent) that meets REAL ID benchmarks. (all states are currently in compliance)
* A native American Tribal Photo ID
* An airline or airport issued ID (if issued under a TSA-apporved security plan)
* A foreign government issued passport
* Canadian provincial driver’s license or Indian and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC) Card
* Transportation Worker Identification Credential (TWIC)

Non-US/Canadian Citizens are not required to carry their passports if they have documents issued by the U. S. government such as permanent Resident Cards. Those who do not, should carry their passports while visiting the U. S.

Posted on March 27th, 2009 at 08:19 by Alex Smith in Airline Safety,Airport Check Point Security,Traveling Information - Comments (0)

Syndicate The Site

Search The Site

© 2005 - 2022 Home Security Blog